Search the VMware Knowledge Base (KB)
View by Article ID

Cannot undo revert snapshot (1000176)

  • 10 Ratings

Details

I reverted to an earlier snapshot of my virtual machine. Can I return my virtual machine to its previous state (that is, undo the "revert snapshot")?

Solution

No. By returning back to a snapshot, you lose all work done since this snapshot was taken. The only workaround is to reconstruct your system's state from a backup.
 
Most VMware products with the revert snapshot feature have (or will have in future releases) a warning message to alert you before you click OK and proceed with reverting to a previous snapshot.
 
Some versions of VMware Workstation (up to 5.x) allowed you to disable this hint by selecting the Do not ask this question again checkbox in the Revert To Snapshot dialog box.  To enable the hint again, go to Help > Hints and click Show all hints. Do not select the Do not ask this question again checkbox in the dialog box the next time it appears.

Request a Product Feature

To request a new product feature or to provide feedback on a VMware product, please visit the Request a Product Feature page.

Feedback

  • 10 Ratings

Did this article help you?
This article resolved my issue.
This article did not resolve my issue.
This article helped but additional information was required to resolve my issue.

What can we do to improve this information? (4000 or fewer characters)




Please enter the Captcha code before clicking Submit.
  • 10 Ratings
Actions
KB: