Search the VMware Knowledge Base (KB)
View by Article ID

Using Reset Default Content in vRealize Operations Manager 6.x (2151147)

  • 0 Ratings

Symptoms

  • You have missing or outdated default Alert Definitions, Symptom Definitions, Recommendations, Policy Definitions, Views, Dashboards, Widgets and Reports.
  • Default Alert Definitions, Symptom Definitions, Recommendations, Policy Definitions, Views, Dashboards, Widgets or Reports have been deleted or modified and cannot be repair.
  • Alert Definitions, Symptom Definitions, Recommendations, Policy Definitions, Views, Dashboards, Widgets or Reports don't function correctly after an upgrade of Operations Manager or a Management Pack.

Purpose

Using the Reset Default Content option (formerly Reset Out of the Box Content), will restore all default Alert Definitions, Symptom Definitions, Recommendations, Policy Definitions, Views, Dashboards, Widgets and Reports associated with the PAK file being installed.

Resolution

To resolve this issue, use Reset Default Content option in vRealize Operations Manager UI.

Note: It is best practice to use the Reset Default Content option to ensure updated content is provided.

To reset default content:

  1. Log into the vRealize Operations Manager Operations admin UI as admin.
  2. Navigate to Software Update.
  3. Click Install A Software Update....
  4. Click Browse... and select the related PAK file of the default content you want to reset.

    Example
    :

    Choosing the Management Pack for Storage Devices PAK will reset the default Alert Definitions, Symptom Definitions, Recommendations, Policy Definitions, Views, Dashboards, Widgets and Reports related to that Management Pack.

    Note:

    The Application portion of the vRealize Operations Manager upgrade can be used to reset the included Management Packs, such as VMware vSphere, VMware vSAN, VMware vRealize Log Insight, VMware vRealize Business Management, VMware vRealize Automation, and End Point Operations.

  5. Check the Install the PAK file even if it is already installed and Reset Default Content options, and accept the warning.
  6. Click Upload.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Read and Accept the End User License Agreement, then click Next.
  9. If applicable, review the update information and click Next.
  10. Click Install.
To reset VMware vSphere Management Pack's default content in vRealize Operations Manager 6.3 and later:

  1. Log into the vRealize Operations Manager UI as admin.
  2. Navigate to Administration > Solutions.
  3. Select the VMware vSphere solution and click Configure.
  4. Click Reset Default Content in the upper right hand corner.
  5. Accept the warning and click OK.

Additional Information

Using the Reset Default Content option overwrites any changes made to Default Alert Definitions, Symptom Definitions, Recommendations, Policy Definitions, Views, Dashboards, Widgets and Reports. To avoid this, it's recommended to clone any default content and modify the cloned version.

Request a Product Feature

To request a new product feature or to provide feedback on a VMware product, please visit the Request a Product Feature page.

Feedback

  • 0 Ratings

Did this article help you?
This article resolved my issue.
This article did not resolve my issue.
This article helped but additional information was required to resolve my issue.

What can we do to improve this information? (4000 or fewer characters)




Please enter the Captcha code before clicking Submit.
  • 0 Ratings
Actions
KB: