Knowledge Base

The VMware Knowledge Base provides support solutions, error messages and troubleshooting guides
Search the VMware Knowledge Base (KB)   View by Article ID

Re-Installation Asks You to Use Existing Database After Uninstallation Removed It (1813)


Why does a re-installation ask me to use an existing database?


When VirtualCenter is uninstalled on a machine, the uninstaller actually removes the ODBC/DNS entry for the VirtualCenter database. The physical database remains on the machine unless it is removed through the database processes.

When VirtualCenter is being reinstalled as a fresh installation, the installer still detects the existing database and prompts for action to be taken: overwrite the database, or use the existing database.


VC130; 71495; 1813

Request a Product Feature

To request a new product feature or to provide feedback on a VMware product, please visit the Request a Product Feature page.


  • 0 Ratings

Did this article help you?
This article resolved my issue.
This article did not resolve my issue.
This article helped but additional information was required to resolve my issue.
What can we do to improve this information? (4000 or fewer characters)
  • 0 Ratings