Removing a Virtual Machine from VirtualCenter Removes Shared .dsk Files (1504)
If you are sharing .dsk files between multiple virtual machines and you remove one of the virtual machines, the .dsk files are also removed and are no longer available for the shared virtual machines.
Do not use the Remove a Virtual Machine (from disk) option if you are sharing the .dsk files between virtual machines. Instead, use the Delete a Virtual Machine (from VirtualCenter) option. This option keeps the virtual machine on the disk and leaves the .dsk files available for other virtual machines.