Knowledge Base

The VMware Knowledge Base provides support solutions, error messages and troubleshooting guides
 
Search the VMware Knowledge Base (KB)   View by Article ID
 

Disabling Time Synchronization (1189)

Details

In the VMware Tools control panel, the time synchronization checkbox is unselected, but you may experience these symptoms:
  • When you suspend a virtual machine, the next time you resume that virtual machine it synchronizes the time to adjust it to the host.
  • Time is resynchronized when you migrate the virtual machine using vMotion, take a snapshot, restore to a snapshot, shrink the virtual disk, or restart the VMware Tools service in the virtual machine (including rebooting the virtual machine).

Solution

The time synchronization checkbox controls only whether time is periodically resynchronized while the virtual machine is running. Even if this box is unselected, by default VMware Tools synchronizes the virtual machine's time after a few specific events that are likely to leave the time incorrect.

There are two methods to completely disable time synchronization in the guest. Perform one of these options:

Note: Unlike the normal periodic time sync, which can move the guest clock only forward, these special time syncs can move the guest clock either forward or backward. If you want your guests to never sync backward in time, disable the options (by selecting "0" for each option).

For more information on time keeping, see Timekeeping in VMware Virtual Machines.

  • Add configuration options in the virtual machines .vmx file:

    1. Power off the virtual machine.
    2. Connect to the host with an SSH session. For more information, see Using ESXi Shell in ESXi 5.x (2004746).
    3. Open the virtual machines configuration file, located at /vmfs/volumes/datastore_name/vm_name/vm_name.vmx using a text editor. For more information, see Editing configuration files in VMware ESXi and ESX (1017022).
    4. Set these options to zero. If the entries do not exist, add them.

      Note: 0 = disabled, 1 = enabled.

      tools.syncTime = "0"
      time.synchronize.continue = "0"
      time.synchronize.restore = "0"
      time.synchronize.resume.disk = "0"
      time.synchronize.shrink = "0"
      time.synchronize.tools.startup = "0"
      time.synchronize.tools.enable = "0"
      time.synchronize.resume.host = "0"


      Note: In GSX, VMware Fusion, VMware Player and VMware Workstation, you must use "FALSE" instead of "0". For example:

      tools.syncTime = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.continue = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.restore = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.resume.disk = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.shrink = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.tools.startup = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.tools.enable = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.resume.host = "FALSE"


  • Add configuration parameters using the vSphere Client:

    1. Select the virtual machine in the vSphere Client inventory and power it off.
    2. On the Summary tab, click Edit Settings.
    3. Click the Options tab and click General (under Advanced).
    4. Click Configuration Parameters, then click Add Row and add this information:

      NameValue
      tools.syncTime0
      time.synchronize.continue0
      time.synchronize.restore0
      time.synchronize.resume.disk0
      time.synchronize.shrink0
      time.synchronize.tools.startup0
      time.synchronize.tools.enable0
      time.synchronize.resume.host0
  • Add configuration parameters using the vSphere Web Client:
      1. Select the virtual machine in the vSphere Web Client inventory and power it off.
      2. Right click the virtual machine and choose Edit Settings...
      3. Click the VM Options tab.
      4. Expand the Advanced option.
      5. Under Configuration Parameters click Edit Configuration.
      6. Click Add Row and add this information:

        NameValue
        tools.syncTime0
        time.synchronize.continue0
        time.synchronize.restore0
        time.synchronize.resume.disk0
        time.synchronize.shrink0
        time.synchronize.tools.startup0
        time.synchronize.tools.enable0
        time.synchronize.resume.host0
      Note: When adding tools.syncTime via the Configuration Parameters in vSphere 5.x, it is not displayed again after the entry has been accepted and closed. When you view the vm_name.vmx file, you see the parameter inserted as tools.syncTime = "FALSE".

    Additional Information

    For translated versions of this article, see:

    This Article Replaces

    1006449

    Update History

    04/20/2012 - Added time.synchronize.tools.enable = "0" and added note about disbling backward time sync 06/17/2011 - Added time.syncronize.resume.host = "0" as an options 06/18/2013 - Added note on how to set the options in VMware Fusion/Workstation 03/03/2014- Added VMware Player to Note about using Flase for setting options

    Request a Product Feature

    To request a new product feature or to provide feedback on a VMware product, please visit the Request a Product Feature page.

    Feedback

    • 158 Ratings

    Did this article help you?
    This article resolved my issue.
    This article did not resolve my issue.
    This article helped but additional information was required to resolve my issue.
    What can we do to improve this information? (4000 or fewer characters)
    • 158 Ratings
    Actions
    KB: